travelwithct: #cinderellamoment Part 5

Day 5.

Here we are, the last day of the event.  By now, I have no expectations, and all hope is not lost, I think the reality that he will be leaving, and I, returning home.  Sober in mind and emotion, I make it through the first half of the day. Walking into the room where we had our meals, I’m greeted by a very happy, yet inquisitive Mr. Y. Inquiring if we can have lunch together, we find a place to sit, put our things down, and head to grab a plate of food.

Lo and behold, as soon as I sit down, and a good friend of mine sits down one chair away.

Not sure what to make of the situation, the conversation goes pretty well. Mr. Y sits between my friend and I. Chatting with Mr. Y and enjoying lunch, the conversation soon changes direction.  Finished my lunch, I get up to leave, not because of lack of conversation, but it’s time for me to set up for our next session.

Mr. Y joins the session following lunch.  Enjoying the content and instruction, we chat at break and talk about all he has learned.  As quickly as we started chatting, the break soon came to an end. Going over time, Mr. Y excuses himself and I do not see him until our final event dinner.  Just as the event started with high expectation…everyone decked out in their Sunday best, so it is with our closing dinner.  But tonight, it’s our last night and I can’t help but curiously wonder, how will it end…

Will we depart the same way we started…as strangers?

Will we talk until the wee hours of the night…as we had done previously?

Would we say good-bye…with plans to keep in touch?

As each day has been unique and unexpected, why would our last night be any different, right?

It’s moments like these when you wish you could fast forward to the end to see what happens and how it ends, what twists and turns are ahead…how to prepare your heart for what’s about to take place…

images-2

Leave a comment