A Few of My Favorite Things: #sweden continued

Sweden Title

Welcome back to Sweden Continued. I’ve included a few more pictures for you to enjoy and a couple stories I think you’ll enjoy. This was another work trip with a few perks. There was some time to take in the sites, learn about two wonderful cities, and enjoy the wonderful people of Sweden.  While I spent most of my time in Uppsala, Sweden, I highly recommend you stop into Uppsala.

Sweden 1

Not only is Uppsala a beautiful place, it is one of the fastest growing cities in Sweden.  You’ll find people walking or riding their bikes to and fro.  And as a point of reference, it’s the law to have a bell on your bike!  It’s clean, friendly, and the people are very helpful.  Once a year, the city hosts a culture night.  It’s the perfect time to listen to a variety of music, sample delicious foods, and enjoy good company.  We heard a choir in the University Hall and a choir in the Cathedral.  We headed over for some swing dancing.  Finishing up the night by taking a stroll up and down the streets.

Sweden 3

Stockholm is an incredible city.  A few of my best pictures were taken between a building and the Hilton by the water.  If you are limited time, but want to see as much as possible, learn the historical high points, and captures some of the best shots, book a boat tour.  Instead of facing forward on the boat, I chose a seat facing backwards.  I found that I had more time to set up my shots and focus.  The photos in this post are taken on my iphone.

IMG_2136

IMG_2139

I fell in love with Livets Ord.  This church is a light in the midst of darkness. Pastor Joakim and his staff are a breath of fresh air. This is the first church I’ve been in where they hosted a conference to keep their congregation informed about what is taking place at the European Court of Human Rights, what is going on around the country and how it will effect Sweden, and how the decisions Sweden has made have effected other countries.  Another facet of this church that is refreshing is their desire to “find a need and fill it”.

You know you’re making a difference when your government wants to partner with you to take care of its people.  You know you’re doing something right when your multi-generational church body is healthy, engaged, and doing great things all over the world. I met so many missionaries, bible school students who lead or are part of pro-life and pro-marriage movements, who have drive and passion, and who are motivated to change Sweden’s legacy.

Not all is lost!

Enjoy the rest of the pictures and I hope you have an opportunity to visit Sweden!

IMG_2138

IMG_2140
Sweden 2

5 thoughts on “A Few of My Favorite Things: #sweden continued

      1. nothing specific actually. i just find sweden (and other scandinavian countries) so exotic! that’s why i want to know more about it. what’s good to eat there?

      2. Hm…I have to say that I’m not the best to suggest food. If you like fish, you can’t go wrong. Some of the meats were a little saltier than I can handle (and even a little salt is too much for me). The menus were always planned for our group. Everything they provided was superb.

Leave a comment